DEV Community

Eryn Bing
Eryn Bing

Posted on

My First Scrimba Project

Technical writing has been my chosen profession for the last three years. My interest started seven years ago when I was a senior in high school. After researching writing careers in the bls.gov, the only thing I knew about technical writing was that it included writing manuals. Despite my skint knowledge in the field, I decided my profession and modeled my higher education to enhance the skills I would need to be an effective communicator.


I did not know about the variety in types of writing I would make or the variety in tools. I mistakenly thought that everything could be done with word processors such as Microsoft Word and Google Docs. To date, I've used to help me write effective, clear, and concise communication.

  • Grant research software
  • Snag It (picture editing software)
  • Jira (project management tracking tool)
  • Confluence (knowledge base site)
  • Adobe Acrobat (document builder)
  • Adobe Illustrator (document builder)
  • Datayze.com (ease of reading editor)

I am so grateful for my professional and educational experiences that have allowed me to explore these tools and many others. My understanding of technical writing has deepened and I am excited for what the future of my career holds.

For more specific information on how I used these tools, please see the link below for my internship presentation.

{ 
    youtubeChannel: 'https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M2w5YT5vMus'
}
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Eryn's word logo that she created in Adobe Illustrator

Top comments (0)