DEV Community

Paul Preibisch
Paul Preibisch

Posted on

Screen Capture tool for Linux and Windows

An essential tool for every developer is a good screen 🎬 recording app 🎬 . Screen recording helps help record and annotate new feature mock-ups, bug reports, and videos for YouTube. On a Windows PC, there are a myriad of choices available.

Windows

My first choice on the Windows side of things is Snagit. You will have to pay for a subscription, but it's video screen annotation tools and ease of use make it worth every penny.

Linux

But what do we do on the Linux side of things? Here, we are a bit limited.

SimpleScreenRecorder ⭐⭐⭐
In the past, I have used SimpleScreenRecorder. It has never hung up my system or crashed on me, so I'll give it 5 stars for stability. Unfortunately, it is missing an editor and annotation tool. If you are mocking up screenshots and videos, this is a required feature.

VokoScreenNG.⭐⭐⭐⭐
These days I am testing out VokoScreenNg. I have it loaded on my PopOs 22.04 Linux system, and it seems to have the annotation features I was looking for. You can install it using the debian package manager, but I recommend you download it direct from their website so you get the latest version.

An annoying caveat I've found when using VokoScreen, is it seems that all mouse clicks to the buttons in an apps' title bar are not registered. This means I can not close any windows. In order to fix this, I need to kill the VokoScreenNg process. I've filed a issue on their here.

Top comments (0)