DEV Community

Cover image for Black Tuesday - The Day Amazon Died to Me
Mr K Sprinkles
Mr K Sprinkles

Posted on

Black Tuesday - The Day Amazon Died to Me

I started this post a couple of times. I had to bring myself into the mind space of wanting to get my thoughts out. I have to remind myself that this is not a bash against Amazon****. I appreciate the deeper understanding the motivation of the program provided for me. However, I need to be moving on.

I started on my journey in September '22. I didn't put too much initial thought into it, as I was going for a couple of other roles internally & externally at the same time. However, I had a slight familiarity with Java, so I took the dive. Getting to the 3rd phase was not too difficult to me. The more I progressed, the more invested I got into the prospect.

Admission decisions were supposed to be determined in January. However, with the recent tech sector cuts (I believe between 10k - 20k), the start date was pushed back until May. I took that barely in stride, but I stayed focused on the project at hand. The test seemed really easy to me. The coding conclusion of the final assessment was successful in 7 / 8 tests the first time I ran the code. So I felt confident in my chances. However, the selection process was blind to us for the most part. Being that I don't particularly enjoy working in the logistics side of Amazon (simple tier 1 employee), I feel no more ties to AMZL.

I took a couple days to take the cut and process through it. I did prepare myself a month beforehand, "What if I don't get it?" This experience, I believe, gave me a great push towards being a self-taught programming candidate / SDE. I have had some initial conversations with myself, but some deeper questions are going to be asked, such as full, front, or back end paths, languages, stuff like that. My girlfriend is going through a full-stack program, and I look at the heavy load she studies through; OOHWEE! I do have a few things I been keeping in the back of my head when I felt strong enough in Java.

I've began looking at Rust and Kotlin as well as looking over Baby Girl's shoulder at her work. There are some days when I write so much in my notebook, my hand cramps. There are days I study so hard, I get a headache like I did sometimes in College. I welcome that as it feels like a work-out to me.

Thank you for stopping by and glancing at my general thoughts and desired direction thus far. I like this platform, so maybe I will gravitate and post on here with some frequency.

Here's hoping!

Top comments (0)