DEV Community

John Doe
John Doe

Posted on

Maintaining a complex screen

I'm working on a complex payment screen for buying stocks, and I'm hitting a wall with maintaining its complexity. The screen's behavior heavily depends on the account type selected by the user, influencing available stock types, field visibility, validation rules, and more. This involves multiple interdependent components, making it challenging to track what affects what.

Initially, I built this screen using plain Angular, but as the complexity grew, it became difficult to manage. I then refactored the application to use Angular + NgRx, hoping for better maintainability. Unfortunately, I find myself facing similar challenges again.

The core issue seems to be managing the dynamic nature of the screen, where numerous conditions and external data calls significantly affect the UI and its behavior. Despite leveraging NgRx for state management, the complexity feels overwhelming.

Has anyone faced similar challenges in managing complex screens with Angular? How did you keep your application maintainable? I'm particularly interested in any architectural patterns, state management strategies, or design choices that helped simplify your application. Code examples or links to resources would be incredibly helpful.

Thank you for your insights!

Top comments (0)