DEV Community

Cover image for Developer Problems
giftedstan
giftedstan

Posted on

Developer Problems

Hello, and Good evening (from my end😏)

My name is Simon Stanley and i am a software developer. I usually have my stress level go up after an intensive coding season and would like to know how you all manage your "dev stress"... thanks.

Alt Text

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
miniscruff profile image
miniscruff • Edited

I have developed a small trick that works for me. I get virtually zero stress, my girlfriend has bad anxiety but has been helping her a little.

First, understand that each day is 24 hours. No matter how much someone says it is simply not possible to do more in one day than 24 hours. Minus sleep and eating you only get so much time.

Second, you are only as good as you are right now. You may get better in the future and you are probably better than you were yesterday. However, we are not perfect or super human.

Finally, I try and do what I can, I can not do more than that. Once I have given my time and effort that is it. If it was enough great, if not oh well nothing more I could of done.

That's it, if I fail I fail, if I succeed I succeed. But if I stress out or panic I do worse. So I just relax and work. If I fail, I practice.

Then repeat.

Collapse
 
avatarkaleb profile image
Kaleb M

"Second, you are only as good as you are right now. You may get better in the future and you are probably better than you were yesterday. However, we are not perfect or super human."

Totally agree!

Collapse
 
jwp profile image
John Peters

I had a person tell me once that all stress is self generated. Perhaps that's true to some extent, but there exists plenty of clueless managers. Managers are responsible for the work environment! If your environment sucks and you can't take it any longer, find a new job.

Collapse
 
giftedstan profile image
giftedstan

Yea, thanks

Collapse
 
avatarkaleb profile image
Kaleb M

What are you most stressed about? I feel that's the first step in finding ways to handle it