DEV Community

Harirai Mahajan
Harirai Mahajan

Posted on

Hacktoberfest motivated me to learn a new language!

What I Learned From Hacktoberfest

If you find an interesting project but it doesn't match your current tech skills, don't be afraid to dig a bit deeper.
A new language or framework can be learnt on the "Go"!
I found an interesting project Ritchie-cli which allowed people to run formulas, (formulas are some scripts which are automated by rit)
The project used GoLang extensively, and It was the first time ever that I looked at a code in GoLang.
I started by reading the documentation of the project and improving it too.
Then I picked up small bugs like making output more informative, this made me comfortable with the new language.
After that I tried to add a new feature to the project!

I learnt that when you come across an interesting project, try to learn about in top-down way. First start with the documentation, (ask Questions to the maintainers, they'd love to help you out!) After understanding on the higher level "What is the use of project", then you can start looking for small bugs (Like output is not much informative, better variable name, etc.). This way while going through the codebase ask yourself what this code does? so that you become familiar with different directories.
And after spending some time on the codebase you will be familiar enough to add new features!

Top comments (0)