DEV Community

Cover image for Hate switching Google accounts in Chrome?
Honour
Honour

Posted on • Updated on

Hate switching Google accounts in Chrome?

A year ago, I joined a fully remote team, and I began to rely on event notifications to remind me of upcoming online meetings.

Since I had multiple email accounts, I had a painful workflow for every meeting:

  1. Open calendar through event notification -> Calendar opens with my default Google account.

  2. Switch calendar to work account and click Google Meet link -> Google Meet opens with my default account.

  3. Switch to work Google Account

I'd probably done this a hundred times which eventually frustrated me enough to look for a solution.

It was such a relief not to go through all these steps to attend a meeting!

And with the extension, we can also create specific rules per Google App. For example, you can set Google Keep notes on your personal account.

Meetings feel so much smoother! I hope yours does too!

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
dumazy profile image
Fré Dumazy • Edited

Using multiple browser profiles worked best for me. Depending on which project or client I'm working for, I'll have different accounts. This could be Google but also tons of other services and platforms. Having a profile per project made this very simple to manage.

Collapse
 
honour profile image
Honour

That's a great idea! I will see if the multi profile approach works for me. Thanks!