DEV Community

i.ape
i.ape

Posted on

fun ways to remember syntax?

so far i have learnt code by repetition till its second nature.
is there a more efficient way of retaining syntax, order and when and where to use symbols?
with other topics id learn by making a fun song or a saying to get me to remember a order of events but with this topic its quite different.
im currently using JavaScript, redux, react and es6.
preemptive thanks

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
norrova profile image
Norro valentin

You learn english right ? When you say word you know the sense and why you use it in the code it is the same thing, don't remember code in your head like code. Remember this as signification, draw, logical etc... Syntax come with experience and practice, use cheasheet if you lost syntax, I hope you understand what i mean :D

Collapse
 
iape profile image
i.ape

i get you thanks
im a native English speaker trying to talk like a robot ha
the cheat sheets certainly help alot

Collapse
 
jwp profile image
John Peters

When I was in college I used menomics with great success. I've not tried it in programming but I do make up my own interpretations as I type, an inner voice so to speak.

Collapse
 
iape profile image
i.ape

yeah menomics help me with most issues
its hard to attach them too programming though :/