DEV Community

Ijeoma
Ijeoma

Posted on

FOLLOWERS SPIKE IN 7 HOURS ON DEVTO

I have been on devto for a year and few months, my followers are barely up to 10, I've also written just one post. At midnight, I made a post about a cors issue I was facing and how it was resolved, nothing spectacular or serious.

I woke up this morning to make some edits to the post, I realized I gained over a 100 followers. I was excited and checked if my post got some traffic but nothing serious, less than 25 readers.
reader's summary
Don't get me wrong, I am happy with the followers but I'm just curious to know what happened. My followers are still rising. I checked last year's post stats and nothing much is going on too, just a surge in new followers.

Is it a spam stuff? I do not have a very active following on any social media platform also . Or did someone influential repost a link to my post? haha. Please if you read this and have any idea why, kindly leave a comment

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
kwnaidoo profile image
Kevin Naidoo • Edited

I love this platform and I have 16k followers on here, and I appreciate every single one of them but to be honest I wouldn't take this seriously.

The problem with dev.to, is it gets indexed on Twitter, Google, and other places. While you reading an article, this giant signup drawer appears at the bottom, which takes up a ton of space, this probably annoys users into signing up for an account but since they coming from Twitter/Google, they move on after reading the article and likely never return or don't use this platform often.

Thus your readership will be hugely disproportionate to your followers count.

If you want to build up an audience, look at Medium or Substack, those platforms are better suited. Dev.to is just a great platform to share thoughts with other developers though, it's like a Github for technical writers :-)

Collapse
 
ijayyyy profile image
Ijeoma

oh..okay, thanks for this explanation

Collapse
 
link2twenty profile image
Andrew Bone

When people join the site they are given a list of users that the algorithm thinks they'd like to follow. If you're on that list for some reason you'd see a steady flow of followers for a time.

Collapse
 
ijayyyy profile image
Ijeoma

seems like it, thanks for explaining

Collapse
 
syedmuhammadaliraza profile image
Syed Muhammad Ali Raza

I am curious about this because last year I had fewer followers. Now I write articles, and my followers have increased, but my article stats remain the same.

Collapse
 
ijayyyy profile image
Ijeoma

yes, same thing here