DEV Community

Jon Baker
Jon Baker

Posted on

Building my first Data Visualization Project

I'm staring my first real personal project. It's going to be exploratory data analysis and data visualization of active NBA players for the 2023-2024 season. I'm getting more into graphs and charting in python, so I really hope to have some beautiful visualizations that do the storytelling. My mentor has told me that visualization is really a nebulous skill that many roles can have, so it's not a bad thing to be able to understand it and create it.

I have also signed up for DataCamp as it has an associate certificate in Data Engineering. I took the free week, now I'm paying for the 1 year subscription at $149. If I was a complete beginner, it wouldn't be the best option but since I've been coding for 5 months I feel like I've made progress. There is a lot of fill in the blank that a complete novice wouldn't know what the rest of the surrounding code does, but thankfully I am critically thinking about the rest of the code when I fill in the blank snippets.

Top comments (0)