DEV Community

Cover image for Migrating from WordPress to DEV Community
jdrch
jdrch

Posted on • Updated on

Migrating from WordPress to DEV Community

WHAT? Why?

In addition to what I explained here I've been so spoiled writing in Markdown on GitHub and Reddit that WordPress' syntax was becoming a hindrance. I can also easily copy and post raw DEV posts to Reddit, which is not the case with WordPress.

Also, WordPress' editor UI changes of late have been, in a word, disastrous. Whereas before you had clearly discoverable features, WordPress now presents the user with a blank slate they must somehow figure how to use, but without any easy syntax like Markdown.¹

WordPress doesn't understand that minimalism without intrinsic structure (read: a plain text interface with no syntax) actually increases workload and cognitive overhead. And no, I don't want to hear any nonsense about reducing distractions. If you find editor UIs distracting you need medication, not a new UI.

So anyway, now there's pretty much no way to tell what the WordPress editor is actually capable of a priori.

OK, so?

Well, I created an IFTTT applet to post everything here to WordPress, so if you want to stay in WordPress, by all means continue to do so.

Everyone else: just pull the RSS feed from my DEV profile. I'll still get notifications at WordPress you can comment and interact here or there.

¹ FWIW, this is why I never considered Medium as a destination either.

Top comments (0)