DEV Community

Cover image for How many log levels are there?
Jeff Dwyer
Jeff Dwyer

Posted on

How many log levels are there?

I'm building a tool to allow you to change the log levels of your application at runtime. In order to do that, I need to show you a dropdown of the various log levels. Something like:

Change your log level without restarting

I started with Ruby so I put in DEBUG INFOWARN ERROR FATAL.

Of course, then I wanted to do it for Java, so I had to add TRACE.

Then Python wanted CRITICAL so... spreadsheet time.

Here's the sheet I ended up with. It was a fun tour.
Grid of all log levels available in top languages

I wrote up some details and ideas / humor about why I think each language chose what it chose here, but just take a look at the grid, I was surprised by how many there are.

Top comments (0)