DEV Community

Gerardo Enrique Arriaga Rendon
Gerardo Enrique Arriaga Rendon

Posted on

Coming back to Telescope

After a whole semester full of experiences developing for open source project, as well as starting out with a small open source project, it was a time to sit back, relax, and reflect upon those experiences. Thus, the curtains went down.

Or so I would like to say! Instead, I continued with another round of open source, in the form of the OSD700 course.

First Impressions

Right now, I will have to say that I am even more pumped up for this course.

For this course, we will place our main focus on maintaining Telescope and bring it to a 3.0 release. This entails resolving and filing issues, submitting and reviewing PRs, troubleshoot any production problems, and overall interacting with other team members to bring Telescope forward.

We are also going to provide some contributions to any dependencies that Telescope is using! For this, we are planning to create a detailed dependency graph and make some kind of issue tracker that will recommend issues to work on.

Some Expectations

I am expecting to work a lot on Telescope. I hope that I can make lots of contributions to the project, and I hope I can learn a lot from my fellow developers. I still need to learn a lot about JavaScript and other web technologies, specially with the alarming rate of development of new technologies!

Telescope Work for this week

For this week, I solved some minor issues on Telescope. I issued a couple of PRs, where one of them was already merged into the project and the other is still under review.

The work related to those PRs is fairly simple:

  • PR #2654 is related to fixing the formatting of some numbers so that they can be human readable.
  • PR #2656 is related to updating some URL links.

I also did some reviewing on a PR. The PR focused on implemented advanced search on Telescope by using the Elasticsearch API. You can check the PR here!

Supply chain Work for this week

Right now, I didn't work on any issues from Telescope's dependencies, since I just started this week. Maybe I will try to come up with an issue visualizer during the weekend.

Top comments (0)