DEV Community

jessicagroblewski
jessicagroblewski

Posted on

Week 7 homework

Homework

  • Write a follow up response on dev.to from the perspective of a new developer in the field
    • What is confusing about platforms?
      • It is confusing that they all work differently but also have common similarities. Example: they start off basic but each may use a different language for their platform. It may be easy to understand one (with some time) but the second I try to look at another, I can confuse what I have learned from one to the other.
    • How could web components and VanillaJS standards be taught in a way that is more approachable?
      • I think projects like "making a card" help basic users learn the fundamentals. Yes, I was very confused at first but with time I became more comfortable with what I was coding and looking at. I think very basic projects (that push you but do not discourage you) can encourage a love for developing.
    • What did you find easiest to work with on 1st stab? (You don't have to say web components, this is an honest take, if it was Vue cool, but justify it)
      • I found working within css and html the easiest as a new developer. The way it was formatted made sense to me and I liked how straight forward it is. I never was guessing what something was doing once I got the basics down. I had prior coding knowledge with JS but it was just not strong enough to help me in this class.
    • Think back on the tooling. What parts were confusing? What clicked with you immediately?
      • I assume tooling is working within css and html. I find the layout pretty self explanatory. The class and heading structure was pretty basic and did not take much to be easy to do on my own. Having to put a period in front of class names in css took a bit to get used to but was easy to do after a few times. The JS is always confusing to me no matter how much practice I have with it.
    • What additional readings did you have to do in order to make sense of things.
      • I typically would have to look up how to do something the first time and then after that I could do it on my own. For example: working within markdown was something I did not have any prior experience with before this class. I got the hang of it pretty quickly since it was pretty basic. I did have to google how to use it the first few times.

Top comments (0)