DEV Community

Jonathan Yeong
Jonathan Yeong

Posted on • Originally published at jonathanyeong.com on

What I missed about Ruby

I'm back in Ruby on Rails land after two years using only Node/TS. And I'm thrilled to be back! I feel like I missed so much progress with Rails 7 over the last 2 years. But now that I'm back, I can finally use all the things I missed. Here's all the things that I took for granted before my break:

  • Convention is enforced in Rails. Organization is much easier in a rails project, and I'm able to hop into any Rails project and find my way around.
  • Some magic is nice. Such as auto-loading files!
  • Rails console!!! Omg being able to run code snippets is amazing. I downloaded RunJS to be able to achieve the same thing. But it's not a replacement for being able to play around with the data along with your code.
  • Mocking with RSpec is way easier than Jest. In Node/TS, we used dependency injection to be able to mock classes and methods. But it was annoying to use dependency injection when it was only used in testing. Please let me know if there's a better way to do it.
  • Having Rails routes to get an overview of all the entry points to the app is so underrated.

One thing that I took away from the last two years, is typing. I'm not going to lie. I like it. It's nice to be able to hover over an object and know what fields exist in it. I would love with Ruby to be able to hover over a hash and see all the keys that exist. I added Sorbet and RBS to my things to learn list.

Top comments (0)