DEV Community

Cover image for Refined goals in 2024: PMP, SQL, and Linux. Annual bucket list.
JDailey
JDailey

Posted on

Refined goals in 2024: PMP, SQL, and Linux. Annual bucket list.

Projects take longer if you're doing it alone, they involve unknown risks, a full time job, and a family. If you're going to fail, fail quickly and fail often.

People who set a New Year's Resolution normally discontinue their resolution by January 31st. This year I am doing an annual bucket list with a theme to track my progress. This year's theme is to engender more joy in 2024, in work and in play.

There are no rules to the annual bucket list, but I try to think of a goal for each year I am old. Most of my unedited list are suggestions on how to live, such as, it is impossible but try playfulness at work, and light sarcasm counts.

Once in a while, I get an actual goal like try and do something that creates an MVP that create $600 MRR. I don't know how to effectuate that bucket list item, so it stays on the list without judgement for now.

As I listen to the Lofi Diablo channel on YouTube, I will make as my bucket list in 2024:

  1. PMP - March 30th
  2. SQL (mySQL only because I installed it on my system) - Dec 31st
  3. Linux networking a. Learn Terminal - Dec 31st b. Learn Networking - Dec 31st

As I get more data, I can continuously update the list and define until it becomes more refined. More importantly, to keep with my engender joy theme, I will need to enjoy a certain amount of unknown. Goals are meant to be revised.

I'm excited to start on a portfolio of projects. Share any SQL or Linux networking stories, and if you are in that industry, I would love to talk with you to learn more about what exactly that means to you.

All the best, Joe

Top comments (0)