DEV Community

Cover image for A Super Basic CRM for Pet Professionals
J Signature
J Signature

Posted on

A Super Basic CRM for Pet Professionals

My journey to building an app that Dog Groomers can use to run an effective business has reached another little milestone. I have decided to work on small components that will be used in the bigger application and press on with the whole package at the same time; alternating between them. As I learn new things, often times use cases come to mind and I am excited to build them out.

Picture of app with dog

So this basic CRM uses React on the front end and Ruby, Sinatra, Active Record on the back end. This stack is super fun to work with and I am proud of what a rookie was able to accomplish in a week! As you may know I am attending a coding bootcamp and it is a boot camp for sure..... There is always so much to learn and it is great to have a little time to showcase your ideas.

Website with pictures of clients

It has two basic tables, one for clients and one for dogs. It has a one to many design where each client can have many dogs and every dog belongs to a client. Migrations took care of building out the backend and then some Models that inherited ActiveRecord::Base made it super easy to make some routes that my React front end could hit up for some info.

Website with pictures of dogs

The Dog page is built in a similar way. A "card" component takes care of displaying the data in a clean way after the good 'ole map function iterates what comes back from my no pun intended FETCH! Another cool thing I got to practice was using the Faker Gem to seed the database. They even had fake info that I used to create the dogs. It is super helpful to be able to edit and delete things on the fly and then run $ rake db:reset or db:reseed to just start over with fresh meaningful data.

Webpage to edit client

Let's face it with no update there is no CRUD! This snip shows a page that displays the client's dog and the ability to edit the clients info. This was interesting because I really understand the idea behind reusable code in react. In about 3 lines the Dog Card component came to life on this page!

Overall I am happy with the initial version of my pipe dream. It lacks most every feature I want lol; but you have to start somewhere. It is funny how you go back and look at code you wrote just a few days before and pat yourself on the back, "Wow I can't believe I figured out that filter method". I can only imagine how the pros feel when they accomplish something I probably don't even know is possible at this point!!

Version 2.0 is going to have Ruby on Rails and I plan on practicing my deployment skills. I am sure it would be nice for those reading this to have something to play around with.... stayed tuned I'm on it!!

Top comments (0)