DEV Community

Joel Groomer
Joel Groomer

Posted on

Welcome

Welcome

Since this is my first post, I just want to quickly welcome you to my blog. Thanks for visiting!

I'm an iOS developer, and while I'm relatively new to the industry, I'm not new to coding. I've been a hobbyist for a long time. So I know that there are a ton of blogs and tutorials out there covering all kinds of topics in all sorts of ways.

I mention this because I don't want to create another blog that's rehashing the same things. I feel it's important to say that I think those blogs and tutorials are GREAT. I think it's important for people to continue to write them, because:

  1. They are helpful, especially for people who are just starting to learn, but also for people who may have forgotten something and are looking for a refresher, or those who are exploring something and will come across a unique take in one of these posts that will spark something in them. If we're helping each other, we're doing something right!
  2. They are helpful for their authors as well. Some of my non-coding skills include teaching and writing, so I know first hand what is probably a cliché now but is still true nonetheless - to teach is to learn twice. The process of writing something down to present to others is tremendously beneficial because you are forced to think things through in such a way that you can't help but notice what you've glossed over before.

So there will likely be some tutorial-type posts from me in the future, but I'm not going to write them just because I have nothing else to write.

Instead, I'm going to write about what I'm working on, what I'm thinking about, and what I've discovered and found useful. The world of software development is GINORMOUS, and that's true even of the sub-world of iOS (et al) and Swift. I have a lot of exploring to do. New things are released continually. Let's figure some of it out together and build each other up along the way.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
beautytechy profile image
Nicole Hollis

Love it, Joel! Excited to learn more about your perspective.