DEV Community

Christopher Toman
Christopher Toman

Posted on • Updated on

Find a job, they said. They will teach you, they said.

The job you and I not getting

So, to make everything clear, I wasn't employed. I wanted to, but I wasn't and that's the point of my story.

I tried to get a job in my field. I create games in Unity3D and code them in C# .NET. Big shocker is, that game industry is fragile. So a lot of small companies are having hard time being alive. Issue is, I was targeting exactly the struggling ones. They just simply can't afford uncertainty.

I tried to talk with small ones.. I failed... or them, pretty soon. So I ask the big fish around here and they said something like this: "well, we do only hire university students or graduates...", "well, so how many hours can you spent in our office?" and so on. Too young, too inexperienced, can't work as much. Always some issues. Then my principal came up, offered me a one time job by which he realized I'm able to finish projects.

From there it went crazy. First, small jobs, then new people. After that, started teaching by having my course. And to top it all off... we started a company.

Find a job, they said. They will teach you, they said.

That's the issue, inexperienced people having their company and figuring their way out. I'm 18 and I don't know if I'm honestly doing a mistake.

But I don't have much of an option honestly. That's what made me sad. The market for young developers is only Indie... indie is great if you want to work from home. I don't.

One older friend said this, "The crucial point of growth of your young self is not how fast, but if at all".

Then I realized I lived in the expectations of others. And the truth is.. I love what I do and I love to build my business. We'll fail probably, but it's fun. I'm having fun. And the greatest thing about this is, I can still add it to my CV.


If you have any advice, I would be more then thankful to hear it from you.

This was helpful to hear

Hello Christoper,

If you already have your own company and it is sustainable (makes a profit) then that may be the best to stick to. Small or big is a different question if it pays you good enough, having your own company is better IMHO.

If you are looking for "a proper" company, by that I understand large transactions systems (may not be large scale or millions of lines of code). It is a trade off and depends on your priorities and where you see yourself in future like 3-5 years from now. Hope I could answer your query.

From this article

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
jerodsanto profile image
Jerod Santo

Don't be so hard on yourself. Your entire career is ahead of you.

I'm 18 and I don't know if I'm honestly doing a mistake.

I love what I do and I love to build my business.

You're 18 years old and you already know what you love! This puts you ahead of 99% of people your age. Just try to find the balance between fun and learning for now and worry about the other stuff later.

Keep coding, keep searching. You can't see the path unless you have your head up.

💚

Collapse
 
k1pash profile image
Christopher Toman

Hey Jerod,

"In your life, you only get to do so many things and right now we've chosen to do this, so let's make it great." - Steve Jobs

Thanks for your reply, I'm just simply scared, that I'm doing something stupid or harsh or not doing anything at all. I want to move forward and I'm not 100% if game development is the way. At least I want to stay in the field of programming.

Just try to find the balance between fun and learning for now and worry about the other stuff later.

I've got a lot of time before Uni and I do need some money. So, not sure if I can simply accomplish that. But pulling back is like not doing anything.

I also know, that after 1 month of work what's 8 hrs per day I would talk very... very differently.

Anyway, thank you for your kind words.

I saw your LinkedIn, Twitter and your podcast, looks amazing, I'll check it out.

Piece.