DEV Community

Kazuki
Kazuki

Posted on

Rejuvenating My Health at 31: A Personal Journey

As I navigated my early thirties, I began to notice a decline in my health that was hard to ignore. At 31, I found myself grappling with frequent illnesses, an inability to concentrate at work due to constant fatigue, and a susceptibility to injuries during my workouts. These issues not only hindered my professional performance but also threatened the richness of my life experience. Concerned, I decided it was time for a change.

Revamping My Lifestyle

My typical day was a marathon of activities: I'd finish work, hit the gym, and then dive into personal projects until the early hours of the morning. Sleeping at around 1 or 2 AM became the norm, resulting in about six hours of sleep per night.

Realizing the importance of adequate rest, I set a goal to secure 7-8 hours of sleep each night. This meant rethinking my entire schedule, including my bedtime, which I adjusted to between 11 PM and 12 PM. To make room for this change, I had to cut down on passive activities like aimlessly scrolling through YouTube and limit my smartphone usage.

Overcoming Sleep Challenges

Despite my best efforts to sleep earlier, I initially struggled. Habitually, I would wake up around 4 AM, unable to return to sleep. It took several persistent attempts to finally achieve a full 7 hours of sleep. The impact was profound: I woke up with a clearer mind and an enhanced ability to concentrate, especially in the mornings.

Looking Ahead

The journey of improving my health as I age is ongoing, and I plan to share more of what I learn along the way. If you find this article helpful, please give it a like. Let’s embrace a healthier lifestyle together, making small but impactful changes.

Top comments (0)