DEV Community

The Key
The Key

Posted on

Looking for advice

Hi there everyone, first post from me here.

Its the third time I try to write this post, which is kind of funny.
I'm always getting lost in describing my situation. Let see if I can come to my point faster this time.

...
meh. I cant. Stupid head.

Let see. About me: I'm making (more trying than actual make) games now for a few years in combination with the unity engine and c#. All just for fun of course. A good friend helped me to get into that programming thingy and I learned a lot. But the human beeing that I am, I want to learn some more stuff. Looking into other languages just out of curiosity and that sort of things.

All that adventures into python, javascript/typescript and a few others were more a fail than a success. I told myself that the problem is me - which kind of is still correct I guess.
My mindset is stuck to the structure how games/apps in unity work.

At the moment I'm trying to create my own extension for vscode or I would try the Electron thing, because I'm not sure if my idea is fitting into vscode like it is right now - because I have no clue how those programs work at all.

Of course I tried a few javascript tutorials - but they are all website-specific things. Or the examples I would create I have some buttons on a html site at the end. Problem here is: I have null interest in making a website / social media thing / or any other kind of web-app. So I'm not really freeheaded to get through those tutorials. They teach me "stuff I dont want to learn - I absolutly dont care". Question here would be: for what kind of programs, apps and web-stuff is JS made for? (a ton of different things I heard, right?)

To come to an end (I wanted to make it short...): Is there any other way to learn JS (or TS, I guess I would prefer this because of my C# knowledge) more in a normal-app way than with the website approach? It would fit my brain better than all those website stuff.
Even in combination with a library (or whatever it is called) like angular, electron or whatever it would be fine (I hope). What the most of them are lacking are talking about the JS-relativly-basics. You always jump into the library stuff instantly because "JS is so easy you already know it right?" thinking of the creator. I assume there are tutorials (in text or video format) I'm looking for, but I didnt find them 'til now.
So I would appreciate your help with it.

Thanks everyone for reading and sorry for my terrible english :I

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
pizmovc profile image
Luka

JavaScript on websites is used everywhere where you need some kind of interactivity.

You want to show an Alert when you press a button? Use JS.
You want to change the title of the page when a user clicks on some text? Use JS.

JavaScripts main use is in websites, but with Node.js, you can also use for backend or just as an utility.

If you want to learn how to use JS, but don't want to build a website or a webapp, I'd sugest you install Node.js and write a small program that can be run with it. Start with writing a HelloWorld app that just prints something to the command line when run.

But sooner or later you will want to use some library, then you have to learn how to use NPM to get that library and how to use it in your application.

If you don't want to install Node.js, you could use an online JavaScript compiler. Write some code, run it! Its that simple.

If you want to see how TypeScript gets transformed to JavaScript, you could use this tool.

Hope this helps!