DEV Community

Kunal Das
Kunal Das

Posted on

Can't take a single decision at all.

I completed my Bachelor's in CS last Year. Now I am going to pursue Masters this year. Till date, I don't know which programming language to choose. Tried Web Designing (Only HTML/CSS) loved it, but when it came to JS, I started hating it. I am not that artistic to make wonderful web pages. Tried Angular and React but I seem to lose interest in them pretty easily.

Then moved to C#, because Blazor. Fact that you can write webpages without JS but a C-family language is something new for me.

And then again, left it in the beginning itself, because I started losing interest in it. Tried C# for desktop, that didn't go well yet again. Tried C++, can't do wonders in the language as well.

Then tried Python, and I seem to get lost into what to do.

And then I have fears that which language to choose because I have little to know practice in any programming language and that's because I don't even know which one to choose.

And from the above experience, I concluded myself:

  1. Web Is not for me.
  2. I am just sitting useless because I got no project to work on.

And in Masters I want to pursue Image Processing, GPU Programming most probably.

Help me sort my brain out.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
miketalbot profile image
Mike Talbot ⭐ • Edited

Would games programming be your thing? You can certainly try writing shaders etc. Unity for C#, Unreal for C++, Babylon.js or PlayCanvas for JavaScript base languages. For me it was game programming that made me "get it" when it comes to programming and certainly plenty of effects need that image processing - all those packages make shader authoring possible on multiple levels.