DEV Community

Kuthumi Pepple
Kuthumi Pepple

Posted on

My Career plans after Internship

My internship with Outreachy and the Apache Camel community — Improving Apache Camel K Examples — is soon coming to an end and I am looking forward to getting a job that preferably involves making contributions to open source and offers opportunities for career advancement.

Some tasks completed during the internship

My tasks centered around improving or creating new examples on how to integrate various technologies using the Apache Camel K cloud-integration platform. Here are PR links to some completed tasks:

  • Camel K with Kafka: Examples on how to integrate Kafka into your Camel K application and authenticate Camel K to Kafka
  • Using Kamelets: Examples on how to create Kamelets and use them as both Knative sources and building blocks for event-driven architecture.
  • Camel K with Postgres DB: Example on how to integrate a Camel K application with PostgreSQL database.
  • Performing DNS queries: Examples on how to perform DNS queries in a Camel K integration

Areas I'm interested in

I'm very much interested in roles in backend development, integration of systems, cloud development.

My Skills

I am proficient in the use of Golang and Kubernetes with about 3 years worth of experience in software development. I work well in teams but can also work independently with little to no oversight. I am a quick learner and can communicate effectively in English.

When am I available to start work?

I will be available for work from next month, September 15 to be exact.

Remote or on-site?

I'd prefer remote work. I have 3 months experience working as a remote intern at Apache. However, I could accept an appealing on-site job offer.

Full-time or part-time paid position?

Full time.

Am I able to move, and if so, which countries/regions am I willing to move to?

Yes, I am able to move. I am willing to relocate to the UK, the EU or North America.

Am I open to being a self-employed contractor?

Yes, I am.

Top comments (0)