DEV Community

Cover image for Outreachy Blog #1: Introduce Yourself
Kuthumi Pepple
Kuthumi Pepple

Posted on

Outreachy Blog #1: Introduce Yourself

I'm Kuthumi Pepple, I studied Computer Science at Obafemi Awolowo University, Nigeria. I'm a firm believer in the power of technology to improve lives. I like coding, gaming and learning about new technologies. Recently, I've bought into the ideas of the open-source movement and enjoy making contributions to open-source projects. I'm currently an Outreachy intern in Apache (more about this below)

My Core Values

Competence

Anything worth doing is worth doing well (Philip Stanhope)

I try my best to uphold this standard in every area of my life, especially in my career as a software developer where incompetence can be costly either in the present or future. I try never to submit work that I've judged to be subpar.

Contribution

Measure your life not by its duration but by its contribution (Peter Marshall)

This is important to me for several reasons. Firstly, making contributions helps others and makes the world a better place. Secondly, there is a gratifying feeling that comes with making contributions to either a project, community or cause. Finally, it is my way of giving back. Given that I've benefited from the contributions of others, whether its free online learning resources, free software or a mentor showing me a thing or two, it's only right that I make contributions that benefit others as well.

Pleasure

I finally figured out that the only reason to be alive is to enjoy it (Rita Mae Brown)

I don't believe in the afterlife, so I try to experience all the happiness that this life has to offer. I try to have fun or at the very least derive some mental satisfaction in most things I choose to do. Life is too short to spend it on things that are non-stimulating.

What motivated me to apply to Outreachy

I've always wanted to make some impact as a software developer so when I first learned about the Outreachy Internship Program, I applied in a heartbeat. Outreachy provides paid internships in open source to underrepresented groups in the tech industry (find out more here). Although I wasn't successful in my first attempt, I got some valuable experience which led to me being successful in a subsequent attempt.

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
devbird007 profile image
Emmanuel Taiwo

Hi Kuthumi, I am currently an OAU student with a passion for tech, I am currently in technical writing and my end goal is DevOps......I was wondering if you would be willing to share how you qualified for Outreachy.
Truth be told I had given up on it when I saw that it seemed like they specifically wanted only women and I did not stand a chance.

Collapse
 
kuthumipepple profile image
Kuthumi Pepple • Edited

Don't give up hope. Outreachy isn't just interested in women alone but in underrepresented groups. I think you'd be fine. Check out my twitter account, I made a twitter thread about 2 weeks ago about applying to Outreachy. There, I provided some tips for potential applicants. Also visit the outreachy website for more info. Good luck

Collapse
 
devbird007 profile image
Emmanuel Taiwo

Thank you very much.