DEV Community

Shawn Gestupa
Shawn Gestupa

Posted on • Originally published at nwahs.hashnode.dev on

What started me to (re-)learn programming

Before I started to love programming, I stressed about how and where I should start learning: should I learn C++ or Java instead? Should I start on web development or game development?

This is my first post and I'll be writing about how I pushed myself to become a programmer.

πŸ€” How I started and stopped learning programming

I always dreamt of making websites; I even dreamt of making something cool on the internet to the point of thinking of making a game after playing so much AdventureQuest Worlds, despite having no experience in game development.

Fast forward, I had my first exposure to programming during Grade 11. We were taught Virtual Basic, with one of our final projects was to make a 2D game using it.

Since this was my first exposure to programming languages, making a game was hard. Though I made one despite the game looking simple, bad, and riddled with bugs/glitches. But the experience felt rewarding.

Then in Grade 12, we were taught how to program an Arduino board. For me, it was extremely hard compared to making software/games, and I realized that I'm bad at hardware programming. Nonetheless, the experience was amazing, even if the board was simply programmed to blink LED lights in intervals.

Even after stepping into college and doing some simple web development for our final project, I still couldn't push myself to keep on learning or commit to a specific language.

I would be stuck thinking about where I should start. I began to get anxious from the dilemma, pushing me away from my dream of becoming a programmer.

πŸŽ‰ Open source to the rescue!

After my 1st year of college, I had the idea to learn something related to web development since I was familiar with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript.

I thought about making a Twitter bot that checks articles if they contain false information (too hard, I don't even know why I came up with this) or a website that gets food information. I settled with the latter.

Then I started to choose a framework, I was contemplating using React because 1. It is widely adopted; 2. It has an extensive library to choose from; and 3. I could get a job with an experience in React.

However, I settled with Svelte, because it caught my eye for how simple it is to use and learn, despite 1. It is less popular; 2. It has fewer options in choosing a library; and 3. I likely won't get a job with an experience in Svelte.

But I pushed on, because of how I'm getting comfortable with using the framework.

After a month of developing the website, I started to love programming. The joy of making something that you want to share felt like it is something that I've been meaning to find. The idea of open source helped me find that joy.

It took me a few months to complete the website, but I did it. I don't care how slow I made the website, how the HTML code was a convoluted mess nor how troubled I am in understanding how JSON and API work because I was so eager to publish and share what I made to the internet. I didn't even know how components worked in Svelte or how to use them.

After the website was complete, I hastily published the website's code on GitLab, then later on GitHub after switching there.

Publishing the code on a code-hosting platform helped me find the motivation to keep on making and learning, I even found the confidence to contribute to other open source projects - even if my pull request was for a documentation/CSS fix, I was nonetheless happy as I was able to contribute.

Now I'm happily publishing what I made on GitHub. Regardless if the project is simple, I'll already be happy to share what I've made. I've also decided to publish my programming-related college projects, just to showcase what my group had made.

I even re-wrote the first website I published and then published it on GitHub, after watching and understanding different videos & articles regarding code efficiency and better standards (I chose to generalize this because I genuinely couldn't remember the resources I've used, though they ingrained to me).

I felt like I now have a better grasp when it comes to learning different technology and programming languages.

The idea of open source gave me a purpose. Pushing myself to explore different technology is beneficial, so I may contribute to more open source projects and expose myself to more opportunities.

πŸ‘Œ Conclusion

Joining the open source community became an amazing experience. It slowly moved me out of my comfort zone and allowed me to appreciate the combined efforts of programmers to make something happen.

If you want to learn to code/programming, then learn something you're passionate about or interested in. Of course, start with something easy so that you're more motivated to finish it. You can even apply what you've learned for your next project.

Whoever you are, wherever you are, it's not too late to join the open source community, you may even find your purpose to keep on learning.

tl;dr I love open source!

Top comments (0)