DEV Community

Prasanna Kumar Yempada
Prasanna Kumar Yempada

Posted on

How I cleared Naggaro IQ test [50Qs -12mins -18 reqd' to clear]

Intro -

First and foremost I like to inform you that I am 6yrs experienced DevOps Engineer from one of the top 3 IT services company INDIA, who searched the internet to get some glimpse for this type of an exam. Unfortunately I couldn't find or google search algorithm did not find the right page at that time, after spending 30+ mins. in searching and wasting time I've decided if I clear this exam I should share the experience for sure.

Back Story -

I got a call from Naggaro for an opening as DevOps Engineer role, firstly, I thought its typical HR call who might ask for my availability for a Technical Interview. But No, he mentioned about this IQ test and started describing the rules of it. [rules mentioned in title]. The first thought was "are you kidding me bro?". I haven't attended any such online exams other than the general behavioral or cognitive gaming exams for IT companies [esp. bank based IT companies]. I meant, post gaining experience in IT, of course as a fresher I did attend these screening rounds.
As usual, I have accepted for the exam, in a good hope that GOOGLE would help me out. Since the exam was the next day, which means, no time for prep. the topics mentioned in the email from them. so, I started searching in GOOGLE vigorously in a desperate help mode about any info of the contents of the exam. As mentioned earlier, 30 + mins of wasting time in search. I made up my mind. "we need to come up with our know technique".

Analysis -

so the topics are -

  1. Basic Aptitude,
  2. Reasoning,
  3. Data interpretation and
  4. English.

The analysis is that I am good at 3 topic except in Data Interpretation [based on the time constraint].
So we need to be bit smart in our attempt/approach to clear this exam.

Equation: 50 questions - 12mins duration - 18 marks to clear the exam [No Negative]
Technique or Tactic is that - what come may, we need to attempt all the 50 question since there are no negatives!!! but how???
HOW??? -
I have divided the test duration time 12 mins into 9min + 2mins +1min

9mins - Goal is to answer [9–15] questions correct which seems achievable right?? ( I mean 9mins - 9 questions, c'mon that's achievable). The topics you should target in this time frame are English, Reasoning [non verbal], Basic aptitude. {BIG NO to Data interpretation even though you are good at it}. But these 9 to 15 questions you going to answer should be 90 to 100 percent sure shot. Now, Let say you got 12 questions correct in this 9min frame. Now you need 6 more to clear and let see how we can get that?!.

2mins - In this sector of time chart, Now the key point here is to answer all the remaining questions with one option only the could be A or B or C or D [depending upon your choice - I kept B for all unknow or "couldn't answer in time" questions]. See don't worry, here the probability place a major role. if you keep only One choice of option probability of getting that right is higher that probability of random choice of option. Of course its luck based but this is a smart play in my opinion.

So getting the remaining 6 marks from 35 questions is quite high since bigger the sample space [30 -35] higher, the change of getting the remaining marks using ONE OPTION technique is also higher.

1 min - This is buffer time for any panicking or re reading a sentence [if and only if required].

Again, this is the technique I have used which helped me to clear without prep. of course. it is needless to say that prior knowledge on those topics are mandatory. [just that we did not practice nor revised the topics].
"And other golden rule I used was 'GOD🙏'. we need to get 18 questions correct so I prayed, saying I will get 9, you get the rest - deal??😋😋😁" -retrospect - I think he answered.

Conclusion -

Good Luck 👍 Hope this is helpful, please comment below what do you feel about this article and also write it down if you have better plan or strategy' d love to read them. I posted my experience in pure intention to help. Again emphasizing, this a just a technique I used to clear, please this is not the technique to clear 😋 ..Thank you. Stay safe.

  • LeoPrasanna

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

if you keep only One choice of option probability of getting that right is higher that probability of random choice of option

How's that?

Collapse
 
leoprasanna profile image
Prasanna Kumar Yempada

see i will try to explain by an example here... 50 options and you kept all the options as A. so the changes of A increases significantly when compare to selecting options at random. [of course the debate lies on sheer luck too] but probability wise selecting one option can yield you better result.

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

I don't think that's how statistics works. Assuming the distribution is random, each answer has a 1:4 probability of being correct, regardless of what you choose.

It's like flipping a coin. Choosing "tails" every time doesn't give you an edge over picking at random.

Thread Thread
 
leoprasanna profile image
Prasanna Kumar Yempada

That's true but here the distribution on right answers vary, your case study is absolutely true if A B C D are evenly true answers. since the answer set vary i believe absolute probability also vary. but I do condone with the theoretical info. This practice is with experience of attempting various such exams with no negative marks. but again... this approach is not true probability rather experienced... I mean what else to say 😛😛