DEV Community

Level-up Engineering

How to Improve Employee Retention During the Great Resignation

Interview with David Siegel, CEO at Meetup. He talks about ways the leaders at Meetup and he has been utilizing to motivate employees and combat the Great American Resignation.

Sign up to the Level-up Engineering newsletter!

In this interview we're covering:

  • Takeaways from the pandemic
  • Improving employee retention and motivation
  • Communication in a hybrid environment
  • Supporting leaders at Meetup
  • Improving work-life balance
  • Building a community
  • Communicating your mission right

Excerpt from the interview:

"I received an email a few days ago from a Meetup organizer. The subject line said, ”Thanks for Meetup.”

The email read, "David, I'm grateful for Meetup. My mom is in the hospital, and she's probably going to die. Because of all the great friends I've made through running my groups, I'm not alone. People come over to support me at this difficult time. Thank you!"

This is a real story. Every few weeks, I get a few powerful emails like this. As a leader, you need to connect with your customers, and you need to find ways to tell these stories to your team, so they connect with the customers as well."

Click here to read the full interview!

Episode source