DEV Community

Level-up Engineering

Social Engineering: Olivia Liddell (Technical Curriculum Developer at Amazon Web Services)

Utilize social engineering tactics to make your developer team stronger and more productive than ever before. In this interview, Olivia Liddell from Amazon Web Services shows you how to use social engineering for good.

In this interview we're covering:

  • How to measure the strength of an engineering team
  • The definition of social engineering
  • The process of using social engineering to build your team
  • Examples of social engineering in a positive context
  • Common mistakes when using social engineering in management
  • How to use social engineering with a new team
  • Possible conflicts when using social engineering on your team
  • The timeframe to successfully use social engineering

Excerpt from the interview:

"I used to work in higher education as a learning technologist with online courses for universities. I was on a team with 12 different program directors from areas like accounting and healthcare. I needed all program directors to give me information to get their courses up and running.

Some directors gave me what I needed right away, but I had to track others down and work hard to get them to give me what I needed. As you might imagine, this resulted in delays, and I had no idea why they'd make it hard for me.

Then I looked at it from the social engineering perspective. I started thinking about why these different directors would want to give me what I needed..."

Click here to read the full interview!

Episode source