DEV Community

Tong Liu
Tong Liu

Posted on

A very late-coming reflect for Hacktober 2022 event

Time flies, Hacktoberfest 2022 has now already been over within a blink of an eye. However, being short in time does not make it less significant to me, on the contrary, it has helped me to gain a new perspective about how I should collaborate with people who I don’t know from all over the world, and also it helped me to overcome the world-wide difficulty, which is being involved. On top of that, as a former Android developer who has 4 years of work experience working, I have used many open-source projects on GitHub, which saved my life countless times, but never had I once done something in return. Luckily, I had Hacktoberfest pushing me out of my comfort zone, I am proud of myself that I can finally pay back to the GitHub community.

What I have done in Hacktoberfest 2022 and what have I learned?

During Hacktoberfest 2022, I made 5 PRs in total, although having 4 PRs was required for marking it as finished, I still wanted to do one extra because the last issue was connected to my previous issue and I wanted to make my fix complete. The Pull Requests that I love the most were the ones I created for Catima, because during these 2 PRs, I had my back-and-forth interactions which I really enjoyed with the repository owner, what is more important is that through this interaction, we both shared and learned lots of knowledge about Android Development, and this was the scenario I pictured in my mind about how the interaction on GitHub would be, I’m so glad this could really happen to me.
Let alone those wonderful interactions I had with repository maintainers, I now also learned that when I create an issue, I should always follow a certain format to make clear every aspect of the issue I want to submit, this includes the description of the issue, the replication method of the proposed bug, also don't forget to attach the log of when the bug happens. From the repository maintenance perspective, I also learned how it would actually be to maintain a repository that has actual users. Now I know I should always thoroughly test my code to cover as many corner cases as possible and when I finished coding, I should always run the unit test, integrate test and linter to check and fix the potential issues in my code. Although the steps may vary from repository to repository, always reading contributing.md is very important for knowing what tests the repository maintainers do expect before submitting Pull Request when finished coding.

At the end

Hacktoberfest for 2022 has indeed come to an end, but my contribution to GitHub will not stop there. I will try to make more contributions along the way to not only put my expertise into practice but also make it grow even bigger.

Top comments (0)