DEV Community

Mik Seljamaa 🇪🇪
Mik Seljamaa 🇪🇪

Posted on

Mindset Flip

For a while there have been several limiting thoughts that constrict what I can possibly achieve. Some of them I have begun to learn to overcome.

Growth mindset is a cultivatable attitude and even a skill of sorts.
To achieve it I need to flip around when I become conscious of the negative and limiting beliefs. I do not want to empower them anymore and I do need to say out loud the opposite: what I desire to achieve instead. Even if there is not an inkling of possibility in my view that I could make it happen.

Recently I overturned that I cannot continuously program for months. I did program on most days and almost continuously for two months and a couple of weeks in addition to that. I have now taken a short break to write to dev.to and write up material for a Youtube channel.

The next challenge involves money. I have often told myself or kept myself simmering in the doubts and beliefs that I could not possibly be making money.

Well here goes : "I CAN make €200 in 4 days or less"
When I succeed I am going to undertake the next challenge:
"I CAN make €1000 in 10 days"

Immediately the second goal plays a few limiting songs on my beliefs:

  • am I not being a perfectionist
  • am i not getting into wishful thinking
  • i have almost no social skills to speak of

SO, onwards! Here goes:

  1. I am being realistic
  2. Others have done it so could I; I can make it happen!
  3. I have all the necessary social skills I need

If you read this and have an idea of how to help I would appreciate your thoughts, I would value them highly.

I feel better every time I see three phrases that I morphed my automatic self limiting beliefs into:

  1. I am being realistic
  2. Others have done it so could I; I can make it happen!
  3. I have all the necessary social skills I need

Top comments (0)