DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Michael Tharrington for The DEV Team

Posted on

What was your win this week?

Yo! 🙌

The weekend is officially here. Hope y'all all collectively had a good week! 🤜💥🤛

Looking back on this past week, what was something you were proud of accomplishing?

All wins count — big or small 🎉

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Impressing your friends 🤯

Dude smiling confidently and looking directly into the camera while his friends all around him freak out. One dude puts his hands on the sides of his face and screams in disbelief while passing the camera in a super animated and silly way.


Did you know we feature wins in our "Wins of the Week" email every Friday? Subscribe to our weekly newsletter emails to get wins delivered right to your inbox! 💌

Top comments (82)

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*°•.¸☆

📰 I published a new post on DEV! ✨


   

📢 I received a mention in the DEV Community Newsletter! ✨

Image description
 

💟 I received a new badge on DEV! ✨
Image description
 

👥 I have reached 5,000 followers on DEV! ✨
Image description
 

💻 I completed two singleplayer levels on CodeCombat! ✨
I also earned the following achievements:
Image description

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Rock on, Anita. That 24-Week Community Wellness Streak is no joke — that's a really tough one to get. Good on ya! 🤜💥🤛

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*°•.¸☆

Thank you so much, yes, it certainly takes a lot of effort to get! 😅

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Epic

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*°•.¸☆

Thank you 😁

Collapse
 
tungbq profile image
Tung Leo

That's great! Congrats! 🥳 @anitaolsen

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*°•.¸☆

Thank you 😊

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

Awesome! Congrats! 🥳

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*°•.¸☆

Thank you 😊

Collapse
 
bymarsel profile image
Marsel Akhmetshin

Congrats Anita!

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*°•.¸☆

Thank you so much 😀

Collapse
 
turtlewake profile image
Sean Davis

Nice, looks like you're really progressing well! Keep up the amazing work! 😁

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*°•.¸☆

Thank you 😀

Collapse
 
yowise profile image
a.infosecflavour

Totally unexpected, I received this badge! Thank you! And again... Thank you! 💖 It was a great surprise!
Image description

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Wooohoo! Very well deserved. 🙌

BTW, let's get that comment in here, haha!

Mix of poetry, sewing and coding of course.
unexpected

Collapse
 
yowise profile image
a.infosecflavour

I really appreciate!😎

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*°•.¸☆

Congratulations! Getting 25 hearts is well done!

Collapse
 
yowise profile image
a.infosecflavour

Thank you so much! ✨

Collapse
 
shcheglov profile image
Viktor Shcheglov • Edited

Excited to share my latest win - my article on web performance! After investing substantial effort and drawing on years of experience, I've compiled insights and strategies that can transform how you approach web optimization. Check it out!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Very nice, Viktor! Looks to be a good one... love hearing that this draws on years of experience. Thanks so much for sharing your knowledge with us on this subject!

Collapse
 
bymarsel profile image
Marsel Akhmetshin • Edited

I've just published a detailed article on WebAuthn! This piece marks a major milestone for me, combining in-depth research with a topic I'm passionate about. I'm eager to share this work with you all—check it out and let me know your thoughts!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

OOoo nice one — this looks great! 🙌

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*°•.¸☆

Congratulations! I can tell you have put a lot of work into it!

Collapse
 
bymarsel profile image
Marsel Akhmetshin

Thank you Anita!

Collapse
 
stefanobartoletti profile image
Stefano Bartoletti • Edited

I finally published my new portfolio website after a couple of months of working on it 🎉

👉 stefanobartoletti.it

Image description

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

This is slick! I love the colors and just the smoothness of all the animations upon scroll. I especially dig how everything gets typed out letter by letter upon movement... it really shows off that smoothness! 😎

By the way, great tagline here:

I bring value to web development projects by merging technical expertise with creativity and aesthetics.

Collapse
 
stefanobartoletti profile image
Stefano Bartoletti

Thanks 💚

Collapse
 
cipivlad profile image
Cipi

Hey Stefano,
this is by far the best portfolio website I've seen so far. You did a really great job here!

Collapse
 
stefanobartoletti profile image
Stefano Bartoletti

Thanks 💚

Collapse
 
acoronadoc profile image
Albert Coronado

My win this week, after a lot of months without results, I created this video and post on DEV(In Spanish) with very good results(Really a true win!!!) dev.to/acoronadoc/despliegue-y-con...

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Awesome

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

¡Esto es increíble, Albert! Realmente buen trabajo. Agradezco especialmente que hayas insertado el vídeo de YouTube.

Traduje esto del inglés con Google. 😀

Collapse
 
acoronadoc profile image
Albert Coronado

Thanks Michael! Good weekend :D !

Collapse
 
archerallstars profile image
Archer Allstars

I've learned a lot in container technology this week 📦

I published a new blog post on DEV under my new series: Container Today!

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

Less time for me, but I advanced to professional projects!
Also moved my discord bot Mr. Robøt under my web agency for future professional plan 🥳
Annnnd I prepared these 7 years of service on discord 🎂🥳

Aaaaannnnd, I'm partner affiliate with Prisma 🙌💜

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Awww yayeah, Thomas! Another awesome week it sounds like. Congrats on that partner affiliate. 🕺

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

Thanks Michael! Yes, good week, better than the last! And yeaaah sooo coool! 🥳

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*°•.¸☆

This is awesome, well done!

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

Thannks you Anita! 🥳🎈

Collapse
 
phalkmin profile image
Paulo Henrique

well, I got some cool new badges, so my over-leveled pokémon may start to respect me more:

Image description

Image description

Also, I don't know exactly how but I have over 5k followers, and that's kinda cool :D

Image description

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Love to hear this, Paulo! Well deserved on the badges AND the followers.

As for the > 5k followers, I think I know how ya did it... you've been straight-up awesome! You're writing good posts, leaving thoughtful comments, and just treating folks with respect and kindness.

Just to say, it's been really nice having ya as part of our community! 🙌

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Great stuff

Collapse
 
mince profile image
Mince

I MADE A NEW POST, ABOUT MY APP
dev.to/mince/i-deployed-my-app-do-...

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Oh this sounds fun!! Nicely done, Mince. 😀

Collapse
 
mince profile image
Mince

Thank you 😁

Collapse
 
iamgoncaloalves profile image
Gonçalo Alves

Achieving everything in my To Do List. This includes:

  • reading everyday
  • coding everyday
  • writing articles everyday
  • going to the gym everyday
  • And doing marketing everyday.

I have momentum right now on my side and I plan on keeping it going.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Wooohooo! Sounds like a very accomplished and rewarding week. You're living life right, Gonçalo. 🤜💥🤛

Collapse
 
tungbq profile image
Tung Leo

Yes, I Hit 10000 Total Post Views on DEV 💥

Image description

Then writing a blog post for it here 💥

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Wooohooo! Nice one Tung, and haha, you caught the metric right at that even 10,000... that's a win in and of itself haha!

Collapse
 
tungbq profile image
Tung Leo

haha yeah, I'm a lucky man today 😊

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Having a Road House movie night tonight 😄

Collapse
 
tamb profile image
Tamb

Oh snap. I've been meaning to do that as well! Next week will be burgers and Road House.

Collapse
 
schalkneethling profile image
Schalk Neethling

I ended the week with a great interview for a new role. The company looks great, the people are super nice, and the work sounds very interesting. Looking forward to the final steps next week. 🙌

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

I'm a wee bit late at responding here, but this is awesome news Schalk! Major congrats on starting up the new gig and I hope it continues on in such a positive way. 🙌

Collapse
 
salika_dave profile image
Salika Dave

Evaded writer's block and published a new post!

. . . and received a new badge from DEV for community wellness!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

OOooo right on! This is good stuff, Salika. It's cool to really think about how we understand something... I'm assuming you're drilling into this because you're trying to think about how AI will similarly read and understand research papers to sum them up for us and act on that info in different ways right?

Collapse
 
salika_dave profile image
Salika Dave

Thanks Michael!

Yes, that is something I was definitely thinking about! But it feels good because your thoughts here validate the need for this idea for improving the current performance of GPTs on research paper summarizations specifically. For example, when I used Humata or ChatGPT for instance, it is able to better extract details when given a smaller set of tokens versus and an entire five page whitepaper. Maybe if we used the three-pass approach in feeding information to GPT, would we get better results? Time to find out! 💫