DEV Community

Cover image for The Beginning of GSoC’22 Journey with SCoRe Lab
THANDA MAHENDER GOUD
THANDA MAHENDER GOUD

Posted on

The Beginning of GSoC’22 Journey with SCoRe Lab

Hi! I am Thanda Mahender Goud, pursuing a Bachelor of Technology with a Major in Computer Science at Keshav Memorial Institute of Technology, India.

The Google Summer of code…

Getting into the GSoC will be a dream for many undergrad students. It all started at the conclusion of my second year, when I was a novice👾 to the College as a diploma student who had just jumped into B.Tech 2nd year. It was time to decide how to get started with competitive coding, development, and whatever else.

After much thought and research🧐, I began both competitive coding and development at the same time, which caused a great deal of confusion. After I had a good understanding of the GSoC programme and everything, I was ready to work on it, and my college assisted me in this by offering guidance to get into GSoC, KMIT — which is one of the best colleges for computer science in Hyderabad. By staying at college after courses, I used to work on the previous year's GSoC projects from SCoReLab.

And it’s 2022, I was eagerly awaiting the GSoC application until then I contributed to various projects in SCoReLab and finally, in the month of April GSoC contributors application has begun, I started contacting all the people at org and I’d like to thank them🙌 for being so informative during the time, after taking all necessary tips from everyone I submitted my proposal and waiting for the results.

struggle is real.
May 20, 2022.

I had almost given up hope because it was now 11:30 p.m. and there had been no communication from GSoC, nor had the website been updated. After a few minutes, BOOM…! an email congratulating me on being selected for GSoC ’22 at SCoReLab. I rushed to the website and was happy ;-)to see my name there. That why “NEVER GIVE UP” 😁.

During this Summer, I will be working on React-JS in order to develop a Web platform called CodeLabz using ReactJS, Material-UI, Google Cloud Firestore and Google Firebase Real-Time database.

CodeLabz is a platform where the users can engage with online tutorials and the organizations can create tutorials for the users.

The purpose of this project is to improve the user interface and the codebase’s infrastructure. Insider page design, npm scripts, solid project documentation, reusable components, and material UI in the codebase are all to be completed during this time period.

Week-0: Community Bonding Period

After the results were published, the community bonding period began, and I had good communication with my mates at codelabz this year, which lasted until June 12th. During this time, I learned a lot about Open-Source Communities, Projects, and other technologies. I contacted my mentor, who advised me on how to proceed and what to create for this website. The Figma Designs were reviewed by the mentor. I was given a task to complete, and I am already working on it. In these ten weeks, I hope to gain the greatest knowledge, meet some like-minded people, confront new challenges and explore their answers.

That’s all for now. I’ll keep you updated on the way. See you in the future post.

Top comments (0)