DEV Community

Cover image for How do you create your social media handles?
Madza
Madza

Posted on

How do you create your social media handles?

Having an identical social media handle on all the platforms is awesome. That way they are easy to remember both for you and your followers and they look nice and clean once you present them to someone like in a resume or business card.

Depending on how quickly you register and how massive the site has already become user-wise, you might have encountered a problem - when registering, your selected username might already be taken. Obviously, in this case, you go with another, that is different than you would normally use. How does it affect other usernames you use?

1) Do you not care about that so much and leave as they are?

2) Do you change others (if possible) to the recent one you created so they all are the same?

3) Or maybe you picked up a unique enough handle years ago or you have born with a unique enough name/surname?

Top comments (21)

Collapse
 
stali94080841 profile image
Stali

Social media is a great platform when it comes to business as the brand can speak to their audience and even consumers stick to social media for instant messages.

I create my handles with same username @saasmantra for all the platform because that will be easy for my audience to remember my brand when they see in different platform

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

Thanks for sharing 👍✨

Collapse
 
stali94080841 profile image
Stali

:)

Collapse
 
insanenaman profile image
Naman Gupta

I also like consistency.

I go with @insanenaman on all social networks (here, fb, insta, twitter, minds, reddit .... List is endless)

And
Also the portfolio- insanenaman.com

Consistency is the key. 🤣🤣

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza • Edited

I'm not surprised, as it sounds unique enough, to be available everywhere 🎯
Good job on picking it 👍

Collapse
 
insanenaman profile image
Naman Gupta

Glad you liked it.

Collapse
 
cchana profile image
Charanjit Chana

I’ve somehow been able to claim @cchana on all of the major social networks. For some accounts I’ve had to suffix a number but very rarely.

I even have cchana.co.uk registered but haven’t been able to claim the .com variant yet.

For my portfolio site I’ve ended up with a domain that spells my first name, Charanjit: charanj.it it never gets old when people realise it!

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

Lucky you 👍😃 Forming a handle with 6 letters (first letter of first name and the added surname) and you still were lucky to get it available 👍
Props to your idea of combining that way 💯Or you just manage to predict all the major sites in their initial phases and register among the first users? 😃😃

Collapse
 
cchana profile image
Charanjit Chana

Most likely just luck. I didn’t have access to Instagram in the early days because it didn’t work on my budget Android phone but still managed to get the username I wanted!

Thread Thread
 
madza profile image
Madza

Good for you 😉 Glad handles are not validated for must-have uses of uppercase, number and other chars, like it is for passwords on some services 😃😃
Surely it is great for security, tho it becomes a nightmare to remember them all as you most likely didn't use patterns like that for first passwords 😉Password managers to the rescue 😉

Collapse
 
thefluxapex profile image
Ian Pride • Edited

I've only gone by 2 IGNs/UNs over the last 20+ years (a possible 3rd only because it's tied to an email address). 'Lateralus138' and 'TheFluxApex' (or 'FluxApex').

  1. I only care a little bit and then only to a point.

    • I've been on the internet for a long while in the gaming, graphic design, and software world and though I might not be exactly "Internet Famous" there are plenty of communities that know of the few IGN/UN that I use and I always figure if I have nothing to hide then people will trust what I put out there just a little more (not that that seems matters much anymore) if I stay the same name.
  2. I don't change because usually my names are connected to specific things and I think it's confusing if developers are changing their UN all the time.

    • As a gamer and game modder back in the day (RTCW, COD1&2, Battlefield 1942/Vietnam and a few others) I still have some maps, mods, scripting tools that my name is connected to that believe it or not there are a few servers still up and running. Most of these are under 'Lateralus138'.
    • As an older software developer I have things all over the place; so many I have forgotten 90% of them, but some I can imagine are still functional and most of these are under 'Lateralus138'
    • Most of my graphic design is under 'Lateralus138'.
    • Any of my newer software stuff is under 'Lateralus138', but since I use TFA more now I'm going to have a NEW Repo under that name.
  3. Trust is a major issue on the internet and since I'm old school I'm always a bit leary of people changing their name or have random non-unique names. When making my names it's something that's unique to myself that have, at least, a little bit of personal meaning to myself. 'Lateralsu138' (or just 'Lat') is an old name that means something to me then as it still does today. 'TheFluxApex' is fairly new (a couple of years), but it means a whole to me in my personal growth...

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

Awesome insight! Thank you 🙏❤

Collapse
 
_garybell profile image
Gary Bell

Mostly my name and year of birth.

Here and my dev twitter account are my name.

My other twitter account and others are the first two letters of my first and last names, plus a sports shirt number I wore back in my youth, plus my year of birth.

I'm moving more towards just being my name.

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

Hahah yeah, often you have to come up with some creative number combinations to add to your name that are easy to remember 😃😃

Collapse
 
sphrases profile image
sphrases • Edited

this is an odd one for me... I asked my dad to buy Minecraft when it first came out, and he just put the contents of the captcha into the name field. He wasn't sure what to enter, and duh, of course you can change the name.... Well back then you couldn't.
Later I had to register for my servers forum and slowly "sphrases" became my online presence 😅

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

True example you have to think in long term about everything 😄😄

Collapse
 
bellomuboye profile image
Bell Omuboye

Usually I go with bellomuboye and variants of it when readability is an issue (bellOmuboye, BellOmuboye, bell-omuboye). My Twitter though is different @definebell because I wanted to create a company called Define back then and i love the whole "Define something". I now use that as the name of my blog "Define With Bell".

I want to change the bellomuboye to the same variant (help needed here).

My names are both unique so all's well on that front.

Collapse
 
gkhan205 profile image
Ghazi Khan

mine is @codewithghazi everywhere.
twitter, instagram, reddit

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

Lucky you 😉 Did you go through the phases of editing some, so they are all the same now? 👀

Collapse
 
gkhan205 profile image
Ghazi Khan

No I got it on the first try only. :)

Collapse
 
jldohmann profile image
Jesse

I'm in camp 1) I don't care all that much. I am not consistently active on every platform out there anyway. I also do not want to limit the amount of math puns I can make with my usernames 🙂