DEV Community

Manoa
Manoa

Posted on

Screen sharing with Debian 7 + XFCE4 + VNC

Currently, I use a very old Linux computer as a TV driver. As this not have at this time any TV-like player, I had to reach physically the computer to next movies, shutdown the "TV", ... I had to wake up from my bed to pass to the next video. It should be solved ASAP.

So, until my TV-like player is installed, I've installed a remote screen sharing. There is a lot of tutorials about remote desktop, but not a lot for screen sharing. Here is how to achieve it.

Firstly, install vino:

# apt-get install vino
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Then, configure it:

$ vino-preferences
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Finally, activate it on startup:

$ xfce4-session-settings
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

If vino is not dispayed on it, just add a new task having this startup command:

/usr/lib/vino/vino-server
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

This should be working with other Debian based OS, but I only tested it with Debian 7 + XFCE4.

Top comments (0)