DEV Community

Mari Miyazaki
Mari Miyazaki

Posted on

About Me - Mari

Hi, thanks for taking a look at my self introduction! I am Mari, a college student currently living in Vancouver, Canada. Vancouver is one of the most beautiful cities in the world, full of kindness and warmth as some of you might know, and I have been enjoying living here. The reason why I am in college now is because I’m trying to become a web developer as I’ve always loved technology since I was little. In this article, I would like to talk about a little bit of myself so that you can get to know who I am.

My background

I am originally from a small town in the countryside of Japan, where you get to see beautiful beaches, the greenest mountains, the cleanest rivers and lots of paddy fields filled with crops. I used to go playing at the beach, in the river and on paddy fields, which obviously I was not supposed to. I remember my brother, my cousins, my friends and I got scolded for it often, but all those little memories are now good ones to remember. After having lived in a small town for 12 years, my family and I moved a bit north up to a more city-like area, where you see less nature but much more people, buildings and traffic. Because of the sudden change of the environment around my younger self, I got confused a little bit at first but eventually started to love living in the city and ended up living there for 11 years. Since I have met most of my closest friends there and made a lot of memories with them, just thinking about the city brings back so many memories. And I moved back to my hometown right after graduating from university and lived there with my family for a few months, then I moved to Vancouver.

Moving to Canada

As much as I loved my life back in my home country, I decided to move to Canada with the intention of becoming a software developer, which was not an easy decision to make in a lot of ways. But Canada is such a beautiful country and it’s definitely one of the best options to move to and I am so thankful for everyone in my life who’s always been supportive, understanding and caring because I am sure I wouldn’t be here today if it weren’t for them.

My educational background

I’m actually a recent university graduate. I majored in Geo-environmental Science and got a Bachelor’s degree. I got interested in science pretty early on in life and I remember asking my parents a lot of how and why questions: how flowers bloom, how clouds form, why and how ants walk in line, how the stars are floating above and shining at night, why flames turn multiple different colors and the list goes on and on. Something about science still genuinely gets me and I am so glad that I got a chance to learn a lot about it. And I am pretty sure that I will never lose interest in Science.
However, I chose to take a different path after getting a Bachelor’s degree in Science and set a goal to become a software developer. That was when I started to think of moving out of Japan because Japan is not the best country when it comes to the software industry. For this reason, I decided to go to college in Vancouver, which I believe was one of the best and biggest decisions that I have made so far.

What I enjoy doing

I am someone who genuinely gets interested in and passionate about a variety of things in general. One of the things that interest me the most is learning languages and I am currently learning Spanish, which might not seem to make sense because I live in Canada. But I just love learning how languages work, having conversations with people from different countries/backgrounds, meeting new people, making friends, and getting to know about different cultures. I also enjoy reading books, watching movies, listening to music and traveling.

Top comments (0)