DEV Community

Nikhil Kumar Gupta
Nikhil Kumar Gupta

Posted on

My Project: Implementing a Movie Info API with Azure Functions

As a student interested in cloud technology, I recently had the opportunity to work on a project inspired by Learn to Cloud and Gwyneth. The project involved implementing a Movie Info API using Azure Functions, Microsoft's serverless computing platform. Here's a brief overview of how I went about it:

Step 1: Setting Up

To begin, I set up my development environment with an Azure account and Visual Studio Code. With the Azure Functions extension installed, I was ready to start coding.

Step 2: Crafting Our Function

Using Python and the OMDB API, I crafted an HTTP-triggered function that accepted movie titles as parameters and retrieved their details. Azure Functions provided a straightforward way to create and deploy the function without the need to manage infrastructure.

Step 3: Scaling to New Heights

One of the advantages of using Azure Functions was its built-in scalability. As the demand for the Movie Info API grew, Azure Functions automatically handled the scaling without any additional configuration on my part.

Step 4: Monitoring and Optimization

To ensure the performance and reliability of the API, I monitored its health and performance using Application Insights. This allowed me to identify any issues and optimize the API for better efficiency.

Step 5: Bringing My Vision to Life

With the Movie Info API up and running, I had successfully implemented the project idea from Learn to Cloud. It was a rewarding experience to see the project come to fruition and to gain practical experience with Azure Functions.

If you're interested in exploring the project further or trying it out yourself, you can find the code on GitHub. Special thanks to ChatGPT for providing the foundational codes for this project. Let's continue learning and growing together on this journey into the world of cloud technology.

Top comments (0)