DEV Community

Marco Lamina
Marco Lamina

Posted on

How I ended up building my own AI Dev Assistant from scratch

Remember the first time you saw an LLM write code?

Whoa

Yeah, me too 😲

When I learned I could use this technology to build things, I got pulled into an endless stream of ideas and side projects - The kind of excitement I hadn’t felt in years. I started experimenting with small scripts and had tasted blood. I wanted more.

TLDR;

This is the story of how I built PR Pilot, a virtual agent designed to assist development teams in their daily work by interacting with code repositories, wikis, chat platforms, and ticketing systems.

The Gap

The LLM-based tools at the time (mid 2023?) were powerful, but not tailored to my workflow. Sure, ChatGPT could answer questions, and GitHub CoPilot could generate code. But I needed something that was more integrated, something that understood not just my code but also my tools and daily routines. Something I could control from the CLI and with config files. Something that speaks my language. 🖥️

The Turning Point

In my day job, I am the technical lead for a team with 8 engineers and my little side project started to change how I viewed our workflows at the company. I saw inefficiencies everywhere — especially in large teams. Big orgs (we are but one of many teams) are a maze of systems and isolated knowledge pools that we all have to navigate to get our jobs done.

This is fine

We have source control in one place, ticketing systems in another, CI/CD pipelines elsewhere, and internal knowledge scattered across multiple platforms. On top of that, each team member has unique needs. QA engineers, DevOps, junior devs, senior devs — everyone has their own way of working and different environments.

Shaping PR Pilot for Real-World Teams

To be useful for the average team in my organization, the ideal assistant would have to navigate these complexities seamlessly. It couldn’t just generate code or assist with a single task — it had to connect the dots across different roles and workflows. It needed to act as a bridge between siloed information and team-specific processes.

Math Meme

This realization shaped PR Pilot into what it is today: a tool for developers, QA engineers, DevOps, and everyone in between. It’s designed to integrate with your specific workflows and help you get work done faster.

Showcase: Agent-Driven Bug Reporting & Analysis

Let's look at a simple scenario from may daily work:

  • We collect errors / stack traces in Sentry
  • To get them fixed, bug report tickets need to be created
  • The tickets need to have a specific format
  • The QA team wants to be notified on Slack

The Problem

This would involve me juggling 3 different systems, switching between apps and browser tabs, etc... Lots of context switching, remembering, copy/pasting information.

The Solution

With the CLI, I can run this scenario in a few minutes without leaving my terminal:

Screen capture of terminal

🤩 How amazing is that! Here is a breakdown:

Integrations

You can see that the agent interacted with Sentry, Github and Slack intuitively. PR Pilot makes it super easy to connect the services and tools you use every day.

Knowledge

This part almost seems like magic:
Knowledge retrieval
However, it knows where to look because:

  1. I've connected my Sentry account to PR Pilot
  2. I taught it which project that particular Github repo belongs to

It's as simple as dropping a Markdown file into your project and the agent will use that knowledge to run your tasks (Learn More).

Skills

You may have noticed the "Bug report skill":
Invoking a skill
PR Pilot also makes it easy to codify repetitive workflows by dropping a YAML file into your project. These skills are automatically picked up and used by the agent, so when I say Report this as a bug, it will automatically:

  1. Read the relevant code
  2. Create a new Github issue and write a report according to my preferences for structure and formatting
  3. Post a message with a link to the issue into #qa-team on Slack

Knowledge + Skills + Integrations = Magic

Put it all together and what you get is an assistant that:

  • Has intuitive, developer-friendly interfaces
  • Is controlled with config files in my repositories
  • Can autonomously navigate the services I use
  • Has domain knowledge of my project(s) and organization(s)
  • Can automate some of my daily work efficiently and with confidence

Most importantly, it is an assistant that I can trust to produce predictable results and behavior.

Why I Built PR Pilot

Hacker Meme

PR Pilot is now an AI-powered assistant that integrates with GitHub, ticketing systems, and chat platforms to streamline workflows and reduce context switching. My mission? To help developers stay in the flow by providing the right assistance at the right time with minimal friction. 🚀

Learn More

Of course there's a lot more to discover:

Automate your own project!

It’s been a wild ride from hacking together scripts to launching a full-fledged product. If you’ve ever felt bogged down by manual tasks or that context switching is killing your productivity, I’d love to hear your thoughts or ideas. Maybe PR Pilot can help make your dev life smoother too. 👇

Top comments (0)