DEV Community

Mohammad Faisal
Mohammad Faisal

Posted on • Updated on

My OpenSource Blog that You Can Use Right Now

To read more articles like this, visit my blog

Creating my personal website was a long-time goal for me. Finally, I created my personal website with a technical blog which you can visit here.

Today, I have open-sourced the blog part of my personal website. I will show you how you can use it and discuss some technical details.

What you will get?

Here is an example home page for the blog. The screenshot is taken from my personal website.

Screenshot of the blog

Live Demo

Or you can visit it yourself here

Features

The blog has many technical aspects. But the most important features are.

  • Markdown support for blogs
  • Syntax highlight with Prism.js
  • Github pages auto-deployment support
  • Google Analytics Integration
  • SEO setup
  • Tailwind CSS+Typography integration
  • Dark mode support with next-themes

Let’s make it your own

Let’s see how you can use it. Below is the repository that you will need.

https://github.com/Mohammad-Faisal/nextjs-tailwindcss-beautiful-blog-template

If you prefer the video version I have made a youtube video for this as well.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lEljvKRtU4c&feature=emb_title

Or else you can follow the instructions below.

You will go there and click the Use this template button to make it your own

Repository Image

This will automatically kick off an Action that will build the website and add to a new branch named gh-pages .

Repository Settings Image

From the settings panel on your repository you will go to the pages section and select the source as gh-pages .

You will see the live URL there.

Customize the content

If you want to customize it you can follow the Readme file on the repository. Basically, the idea is to edit the .env.local file to update the information with your own information.

Customize the Logo

Also inside the /public folder, there are images that you can customize to add your own flavor.

Technical Discussion

Now let’s talk about different technical aspects of the blog. If you prefer the video version you can watch the following video that I made.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CmDVpgh14k4&feature=emb_title

Or let’s talk a bit about them here as well

Markdown Support

I have used a library named gray-matter to load metadata from the markdown files.

You can add the meta data in the markdown file like the following

---
title: "Add Custom Fonts with NextJS"
description: "Create beautiful looking websites in minutes"
banner: "/images/posts/add-custom-fonts-to-nextjs/banner.jpeg"
tags: ["NextJS"]
date: 1 January 2022
published: true
---
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

And that package will automatically read the data and return an object for you. Here is how I used it

Code highlight

For Code highlighting, I am using Prism.js. First I am loading the styles file inside the _app.tsx file and inside the CodeBlock component, I am loading the styling that gives us beautiful syntax highlights

Code Highlight Example

Dark Mode

For dark mode, I am using next-themes It exports a function called setTheme which I am using inside the Header component to toggle the theme.

Google Analytics

Google Analytics is very useful for any production application. You can just add your own google analytics key to the .env.local file and everything will work for you. You can check the below article for details

https://www.mohammadfaisal.dev/blog/add-google-analytics-to-nextjs

SEO Setup

We are using next-seo package for adding all the required tags for the site. Here are the details

https://www.mohammadfaisal.dev/blog/improve-seo-in-nextjs

Also, we are generating the sitemap.xml file for our blogs as well. You can check the following article for that.

https://www.mohammadfaisal.dev/blog/create-sitemap-in-nextjs

Tailwind Typography

I really really liked tailwind typography. It made my life so much easier as I am not that skilled in UI design. It works like magic and makes everything really beautiful. Here is a video where I described how I used it.

Conclusion

There you go. Please star the project if you liked it. Also, feel free to reach out to me on my LinkedIn or my personal website if you have any questions or confusion.

Have a great day! :D

Top comments (0)