DEV Community

Mark Smithivas
Mark Smithivas

Posted on

What do you call yourself?

I stumbled upon the above tweet the other day, which made me think about my own "title". What do I want to call myself as I progress on this learning path? I'm now 5+ weeks into my Ruby software development program, and starting to think about the next phase, which will be placement with a company. A few will be visiting these coming weeks.

The tweet author mentions the term "Product Engineer" as his title of choice. For me, I gravitate to Entrepreneur. It's something I've done for many many years. The thrill of launching a new company is much more exciting than simply playing a small role in a huge multi-national conglomerate. At the same time, there is enormous stress to doing so, primarily from the high-potential of failure, but also the day-to-day stressors of all the daily housekeeping of keeping the lights on. A startup CEO often finds himself being Chief Kitchen Cleanup officer, or Chief run-to-the-store to buy more batteries.

I do like the author's notion that something like Product Engineer speaks to the customer-facing side of things. Whereas Full-Stack Developer seems to suggest a disconnect from the market realities of launching a new product. I don't just want to code. I want to make the next great product, and ensure it sticks around due to market acceptance.
Product Market Fit and all that.

What do you want to call yourself?

Top comments (0)