DEV Community

Mukarram
Mukarram

Posted on

Coding Bootcamp Chronicles: Week 2 Highlights and Learnings

Hi there,
I am Mukarram.
I've learned many new things in these 3 weeks.
Last week we started JavaScript and dived into FUNCTIONS, IF-ELSE statements, SWITCH, LOOPS and all.
Today I was introduced to the Swapping concept.
Which looked quite easy to hear, but the logic we needed to code the swapping program made me remember my 5th grade.
We used simple mathematics logic to code the program.
When I first tried writing a swap program in JavaScript, it was challenging.
The basic idea was to exchange the values of two variables, but the real thrill came from exploring various methods to achieve this.
Initially, I started with the classic OG method using a temporary(Temp) variable.
For example, if I had variables a and b, I had to introduce a third variable temp to hold the value of a while I assigned the value of b to a, and finally, the value of temp to b.
I know that sounds very weird and confusing but that's how the basic logic of swapping is executed.
Anyway, This logic worked perfectly and helped me understand the fundamentals.
However, my curiosity pushed me to explore more techniques, starting with the arithmetic operators.
I learned that I could swap values without a temporary variable by using addition and subtraction.
For instance, by setting a = a + b, then b = a - b, and finally a = a - b, the values of a and b would be swapped.
When one of my Cohort mates said this logic, I was like "What is he saying?"
it took me some time to process the logic but yeah finally I understood.
Next, I learned about using multiplication and division for swapping.
Although these methods were not recommended, for knowledge I had to know all this.
As I went deeper, I discovered the power of the bitwise XOR operator.
Even this method had the same syntax but with a slight operator difference.
Each method taught me more about JavaScript's operators and how to manipulate values differently.
Finally, I came across the use of negation represented by ~. This method is a bit more complex and less common, but it involves using the properties of negation and bitwise XOR to achieve the swap.
Exploring these different techniques was a new experience.
It not only broadened my understanding of JavaScript but also improved my problem-solving skills,
Each method had unique characteristics, and I enjoyed experimenting with them to see how they worked.
Through this process, I gained a deeper understanding of the logic behind every function and how things work behind the scenes on our web.
~Ba-byee

Top comments (0)