DEV Community

Cover image for First Mile at Flatiron School for Software Engineering
Nathan A. Hains
Nathan A. Hains

Posted on

First Mile at Flatiron School for Software Engineering

Hi!

My name is Nathan Hains. I am currently 22 years old looking to further progress my journey as a Software Engineer at Flatiron School. I began this journey at Suffolk County Community College through an Intro to Java Class. I will admit my introduction into the programming world was difficult. That challenge, however, is what really pushed me to further my knowledge. I looked up to my professor and his skillset. I wanted to learn what it took to get to where they were. From there I was decided on where to focus my attention for the years to come.

After graduating from SCCC I had gotten accepted into Farmingdale State College with a major in Computer Programming/ Information Systems for my BA. I had completed 2 semesters when I heard about the world of Coding Bootcamps. I was/am still very much in full force for attaining my bachelors at Farmingdale. But I decided to first focus my efforts on completing a Coding Bootcamp. I had heard great reviews from various bootcamp alumni. Flatiron in specific had caught my eye from the start. The passion I saw in these Flatiron graduates was inspiring. Regular people, like me, had changed their lives for the better! I saw how rewarding the challenge of completion can be and focused my efforts on how I could be one of these people.

Now, on February 1st, 2021, I can proudly say I am beginning my First Mile with Flatiron School as a Software Engineer. I have met with my Cohorts and saw the happy faces of my fellow students. It is super exciting to see where the next 5 month will take us all. I am ready for this challenge. I will update my journey in hopes to serve as a source of inspiration as others have been for me. See everyone in the next milestone! Wish me luck!

Nathan Hains,
Future Software Engineer

Top comments (0)