DEV Community

nobar86
nobar86

Posted on

Portfolio Project #1

My portfolio project was done using a Game of Thrones API, where I would welcome a user and have the select a major house from the lore. Once a house was selected the user would be able to see whether or not the house selected had sub-houses within them. If the house did, the user would have multiple options to choose from, and if not then they would only have one choice. Once the user selected a house, the app would then display certain information about the house. After the information has been displayed, the app would ask then user if they would like to make another selection and if they did the app would start over and let them make another selection, and if they chose to not make another selection, the app would simply exit.

In doing this project I have learned a good bit about myself as a future developer. I have learned to overcome my imposter syndrome, I have learned to work through struggles, and I have learned to overcome my fear of live coding. The live coding was by far the biggest obstacle for me to get past, simply because under pressure, my brain would quite literally shut down. It made me feel as if I did not know what I was doing even though I did in fact know what I was doing. All in all the was a great learning experience and I look forward to what the future holds.

Top comments (0)