DEV Community

Oliver Davies
Oliver Davies

Posted on • Originally published at oliverdavies.uk on

Why I don't branch

A few days ago, I asked why people are still using Git Flow in 2024.

I moved to trunk-based development two years ago and haven't looked back.

Why did I do that?

Only having a single branch instead of separate main and develop branches and branches for each feature and fix is much simpler.

I don't get merge conflicts when trying to merge branches together, as everything is on a single branch.

A couple of years ago, I was working on two features for a project. I was demoing them to a client and broke my local environment when switching branches from feature A to feature B.

It was embarrassing, and it took me time to resolve the issues before I could continue working.

Here's the thing

Working mostly on a single branch avoids merge conflicts, saves time, and simplifies my workflow.

No more confusion, merge conflicts or broken demos.

P.S. There's less than a year until Drupal 7's end-of-life date. Plan your upgrade to Drupal 10 now!

Top comments (0)