DEV Community

Fredo .
Fredo .

Posted on

newbie in training

hello there!

This post begins my journey and deep dive into learning about coding, web developing, code reviewing and a bunch more of -ings that I can't think off the top of my head. I genuinely will put my best foot forward and keep my mind open for new opportunities to learn and expand my knowledge about this field.

This has been brought to fruition to my understanding, albeit a bit stubborn, that I cannot continue working my self to the brink of exhaustion and think it's a sustainable path in life. For context I have been working 12 hour shifts at my job consistently for the better part of 4-5 years and I'm at a standstill. I have always been headstrong and let my actions speak rather than my words. And through my work ethic and determination I have been rather successful in some regards but also am falling short of where I want to be at. I don't wanna reach a brick wall in a sense where I am not able to keep learning and succeeding in life. This journey will be an effort to keep true to that as it will help me reach a life where I can have the enjoyment of free time and have energy to pursue the things I have a passion for.

The following video was first brought to my attention by my high school physics teacher. It was one of those things that might've bore some people to death and it was really cliché for a teacher to show a inspirational video to a bunch of bright-eyed 15-16 year old's but for me it really meant a lot. I didn't really excel in class but through the constant badgering by the teacher I began to realize how much effort he put into his lessons. As the years went on and I kept ending in his classes I realized he wasn't like most, through constant tales about his raising and his diligent efforts in the classroom he was able to reach a point in his life where he wanted for nothing. His character was a step above the rest as shown through his words and actions. An example, He gave those who stuck with him through his AP Physics Class, from regular physics and honors, a little picture frame with a brick wall because he genuinely believed in all of his students that they'll do great.

This post may be the only post I dedicate to someone but Mr.Cartegna I hope you'll realize that you gave this kid some sort of hope. I'm going to break through some brick walls to reach sucesss :D .

Top comments (0)