DEV Community

Đặng Phúc Hòa
Đặng Phúc Hòa

Posted on

Can you help me understand what makes a good and successful interview, and what makes a bad interview?

I am a front-end developer with nearly 2 years of experience. I recently applied for a new job. I want to know how to avoid bad interviews so that I can improve my chances of getting the job I want.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
dennistobar profile image
Dennis Tobar

Hi, there is no easy answer to your question. I suggest exploring your weaknesses and strongest skills at work: for example, being a hard worker is not synonymous with being a good team player. Remember that you want to be a part of a team, so don't be shy about yourself, maybe the interviewer will not be your colleague, but he/she will write about you and tell others about your interview, so... don't lie about your skills or yourself.

When I interview a candidate I'm searching if the person is willing to learn anything new or will try to impose his/her view of the world in our company.

Be confident about yourself, try to stay calm, say "I don't know" if you don't know anything, remember, DON'T TELL LIES

Last, but not least, it is not the end of the world if you are rejected after the interview...

Good luck 🤞🏻
(cross fingers are considered as good luck in my country, apologies if it means another thing in your country)

Collapse
 
phuchoa2001 profile image
Đặng Phúc Hòa

Thank you for your advice. I am very happy to see this answer.