DEV Community

Parker Strauss
Parker Strauss

Posted on

From the perspective of a new developer

What is confusing about platforms?

The format of the platforms and how they are structured is confusing to me. Just how everything is interconnected is confusing.

How could web components and VanillaJS standards be taught in a way that is more approachable?

Web components and VanillaJS could be taught in a more approachable way by learning the basics of VanillaJS first and then seeing a finished web component and seeing how the JS is wired throughout it to make it work.

What did you find easiest to work with on 1st stab?

I found working with HTML and CSS alone to be pretty easy since I have seen a lot of those conventions already.

Thinking back at tooling. What parts were confusing? What clicked with you immediately?

Something that was confusing was trying to implement different strategies from my class and trying to figure out why it was not working. Something that clicked immediately was the different HTML and CSS conventions I had seen before.

What additional readings did you have to do in order to make sense of things.

I had to go to a lot of MDN websites and look back on previous projects in order to make sense of things in my project.

Top comments (0)