DEV Community

Priyal Kumar
Priyal Kumar

Posted on

How to recover NTFS partition with directory structure?

What I've already tried:

I've googled and found some recovery softwares but nothing worked. Most recovery software will scan the HD for lost files and list them by types. The directory structure and the file name is lost. So far, no success in recovering anything. I've around 350GB of items to be recovered from a 500GB external HD. One of the recovery software(DMDE) was able to show the deleted partition and I can navigate through all its folders but free version didn't recovered more than a few files.

What I need:

I need a software which can restore the whole partition. If recovering the whole partition is not possible, then I'd like to backup all the files in the HD with all its directory structure.


My present state of mind:

I'm totally mad. Someone just help me, please.

How I messed up my external HD:

I made an empty partition in it. Turned on Storage Spaces in Windows. I didn't know that Storage Spaces formats the full HD and make a new partition in it. I removed instantly when I notice my HD's partition is gone in "My PC"

Top comments (0)