DEV Community

Raziel Rodrigues
Raziel Rodrigues

Posted on

Why I Chose to Depart from Brazil

Hello to you, the reader of my short story about this decision. First of all, I would like to say that this text is about my personal experience and how I feel about living as a foreigner. So, welcome to my thoughts.

Why I Chose to Depart My Homeland

I was born in Brazil, the land of samba, caipirinha, coffee, and other cool stuff. Yes, I love my country, and there we have great opportunities to live a good life. Working as a software engineer, you can rent a house, buy your food, and go outside whenever you want. However, I'm a curious person, so my curiosity to explore the world was greater compared to staying in my comfort zone.

So, I decided to move to Portugal, I mean, they have pastel de nata, lots of beautiful sights to see around the cities, castles, and beautiful beaches. Also, they speak Portuguese, my main language, also I have some family members living here they helped with the initial support which is important at the main phase of the moving process, I'm also grateful for that.

Embracing Change

I thought I did a good choose coming to Portugal, Sometimes I have faced a little bit of bureaucracy to get my documents, but never mind, this is part of the process, and now I already have everything addressed. Now, I will take the opportunity to travel the world, and I'm going to do that as soon as possible. I will start with some trips, and I'm planning to keep working while traveling. For sure, it will be nice to do things that I have dreamt of.

In addition, I should say that from time to time, I remember Brazil and start to miss some stuff from there. I think this is one of the worst parts of leaving your own culture being away from your family and hometown is not so easy tho in Porto has Brazilians and connection with our culture since it's similar, then it helps to don't get bored.

Currently I'm working with PHP the language that I have been working with for 6 years, then I work for a project made with Symfony and basically is a project for the government, pretty cool I should say.

Concluding Thoughts

If you want to go outside and live your life in another country, I should say you should do that. You aren't losing anything; you are only living what you want. Just organize yourself, level up your skills to get a good job, and try it!

Top comments (0)