DEV Community

Cover image for My KWOC -Kharagpur Winter Of Code Project Report
sai-vamshi-18
sai-vamshi-18

Posted on

My KWOC -Kharagpur Winter Of Code Project Report

About KWOC

KWOC — Kharagpur Winter of Code is a 5-week long online program organised by KOSS for the students of various colleges, especially for students of IIT Kharagpur, who are new to open source software development.

Introduction to Open-Source

I didn't have much idea about open-source or how to contribute to it until attending the introductory lecture of KWOC. After registering for kwoc and going through the sources and links present on the website, I learned git commands and how to contribute to the projects.

Selecting Projects

As I only knew a few programming languages, I filtered the projects accordingly and as I recently completed algorithms course, I selected the project DS - ALGO - SOLUTIONS as this was in my interest and was in cpp which I knew.

My Contributions

I didn't make large contributions as I started late(in mid-December) and couldn't get much time later on.

Project

I worked on the project DS - ALGO - SOLUTIONS which is a collection of solutions for HackerRank data structures and algorithm problems in Python, JAVA, and CP

GitHub logo adityabisoi / ds-algo-solutions

A collection of solutions for Hackerrank data structures and algorithm problems in Python

DS-ALGO-SOLUTIONS
DS - ALGO - SOLUTIONS

Dependencies GitHub Issues GitHub pull requests contributions welcome Join the chat at https://gitter.im/ds-algo-solutions/community

All Contributors

Be sure to this repo so you can keep up to date on any daily progress!

Table of Contents

About the project

A collection of solutions for HackerRank data structures and algorithm problems in Python, JAVA, and CPP. This community-owned project aims to bring together the solutions for the DS & Algo problems across various platforms, along with the resources for learning them. Problems from Leetcode will be included soon in the project.

Contribution Instructions

HackerRank

HackerRank is a place where programmers from all over the world come together to solve problems in a wide range of Computer Science domains such as algorithms, machine learning, or artificial intelligence, as well as to practice different programming paradigms like…

Closed PRs

I added a cpp solution and changed the location file to the appropriate location and updated the readme file

Added cpp solution,Changed the location in README to Algorithms and m… #476

Added cpp solution, changed the location in README to Algorithms and made file path of solutions available into Algorithms/Implementation to Viral Advertising in Algorithms/Implementation

Solved issue #472 In Language- c++

  • [x] Updated README Link
  • [x] Added code with comments

Thanks for contributing!

Languages

I did my contribution in C++ and markdown languages.

Experience

I learned a lot and gained my interest. I will always remember this as this is my first pull request being merged and it's a good feeling to know that your part of code is contributing to some project. It also gives good exposure to open source and is a great help to students preparing for GSoC

Top comments (0)