DEV Community

Soft Skills Engineering

Episode 277: Super long code reviews and replacement laptop

In this episode, Dave and Jamison answer these questions:

Questions

  1. My company recently had a kerfuffle where some teams felt that reviewing a PR in less than 3 weeks was an unreasonable ask.

    As such, the company is trying to come up with guidelines for cross-team asks. The current proposal is for work of 1-2 hours they will commit to an SLA of 6 months. I feel this is a polite way of saying no to any request.

    Are there any ways we could come a more reasonable agreement on this?

  2. Hi, my laptop has died after upgrading to MacOS Monterrey and I’ve been given a 2017 Macbook with poor specs as a replacement due to no fault of my own.

    I’m at a startup of around 100 employees and I don’t think we’ve got a mature set up in terms of getting replacement machines.

    I’m a Senior Engineer and need a speedy laptop for my intense role. It’d be faster for me to use my personal MacBook than using the replacement, but I don’t think that would be allowed.

    How would you suggest I go about requesting a replacement MacBook with specs that fit my role? Do companies have budgets set aside for these expenses?

    Thanks

Episode source